top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristian Gravius

Remix

I love memes.



Honestly, memes are probably what keeps me sane.


One of the main reasons I keep Twitter around on my phone is to look at memes. As odd as it sounds, memes are a part of my life and I wanted to show that in my remix work.


Just as memes are all around my life, color is a part of everyone’s life.


Well—for the most part.


With the exception of those that are colorblind or just completely blind, color plays a huge role in the life of the average human being.


Be it the clothes we wear, the cars we drive or the paint we chose to cover our home walls in, color plays a huge role.


For my remix, I wanted to incorporate the two mediums.


The more I looked at memes, I realized they all had distinct color schemes and patterns involved with them. Because of this, I decided to create a meme color wheel.


I used classic memes, as well as some lesser-known ones to create the color wheel which clearly transitions between colors nicely creating a visually appealing, yet simplistic piece.


I made the piece using Photoshop, which is something I’ve been getting into more and more recently. Photoshop is very difficult to use and not user-friendly at all, so my biggest challenges came in working the software.


Also, while I am a meme connoisseur, I am not a full-blown expert on the subject. Luckily, my roommate and very good friend Alex lives, eats, sleeps and breathes memes, so he was able to help me on the project.


I’d say, “hey Alex, what’s a good green meme?”


Alex ended up yelling back at me to use a “dat boi” meme where a green frog is featured riding a unicycle. A timeless classic for sure and definitely the marquee meme of my piece.


In their essence, memes are remixes themselves. Every meme was once just a picture that somebody found humorous and remixed themselves to include different colors and texts. For that reason, it goes without saying memes are a safe space when it comes to common use.


In my opinion, memes should always stay open for anyone to use, because at the end of the day that’s how more memes are created.


Basically, with my piece, I remixed a bunch of previously remixed things. Super cool if you ask me.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page